Storm King SMRTICS BACK ON TRACK

Forums Forums FORUM MEMBER’S BUSINESS NEWS Storm King SMRTICS BACK ON TRACK

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    dino
    Keymaster

Hi All,

I’ve attached this Article from newspaper yesterday. This is what my team and I have been working on so diligently for several months.
        Our start up venture which we began last year, So-Komp, never had much of a chance in this current economic climate.
        We closed it’s doors and began looking for the right opportunity and after months of ground work, we are ready to launch. Though technically a start up, we are now part of a larger group of aviation/aerospace business partners that allow us to begin operations with a sizable tooling contract as well as long term production contract. We are currently talking to several additional aircraft companies that have expressed an interest in us taking over their composite work load, as well as repair and some nut and bolt type work.
        We will continue to support, and expand, our composite auto and motorcycle racing programs as well.
        Gary

The Daily News, Butler Co. Ky. October 30, 2009

In the midst of high unemployment, Butler County has landed some new jobs as a start-up company locates in Morgantown.
        Blackhawk Composites, which manufactures aerospace parts, plans to open a production facility in Morgantown. The company will hire up to 30 or 40 workers, invest about $1 million into the business and should be operating by the beginning of 2010, said Gary Smrtic, president and general manager of Blackhawk Composites.
        “I really think that while there’s a general economic downturn, there’s still a very ripe opportunity for companies like us that are small,” he said.
        The company makes composites for aircraft and wants to eventually produce parts for the military, said Bill Smrtic, manager of manufacturing and process for Blackhawk.